

GOVERNING BOARD: John E. Márquez, President (Ward I) • John T. Nejedly, Vice President (Ward IV) • Vicki C. Gordon, Secretary (Ward III) • Greg Enholm (Ward V) • Matthew Rinn (Ward III) • Ivan De Los Santos, Student Trustee

# **Governing Board Meeting of March 26, 2014**

The Contra Costa Community College District (District) Governing Board met at the George R. Gordon Education Center on March 26, 2014. The meeting began at 5:00 p.m. with a reception to honor the District's classified employee of the year and faculty who were awarded tenure. The public meeting began at 6:00 p.m., and was followed by closed session at 8:00 p.m.

Highlights of the meeting follow.

## **Classified Employee of the Year and Tenured Faculty Reception**

The Governing Board held a reception to honor the District's Classified Employee of the Year, Diablo Valley College's Ann Langelier-Patton, and recognized the following 8 faculty members who were awarded tenure.

Lucile Beatty (CCC)
Lynden Krause (DVC)
Rosa Armendariz (LMC)
William Cruz (LMC)
Paula Gunder (LMC)
Anthonly Hailey (LMC)
Danielle Liubicich (LMC)
Joseph Meyer (LMC)
Luis Morales (LMC)
Cecil Nasworthy (LMC)

## **New Agreements Approved**

The Governing Board approved a number of agreements including:

- a Contra Costa College (CCC) renewal agreement with the Hilltop Community Church for facility use for the CCC Nursing Program pinning ceremony;
- a new Diablo Valley College (DVC) agreement with Lorena Orellana to provide CPR and first aid training to foster/kinship parents;
- a new District Office (DO) agreement with Comevo, LLC, to develop an online suite of customized orientation and matriculation services; and
- a Los Medanos College (LMC) renewal agreement with Governet for implementation of a web-accessible, database-driven Curriculum Development and Approval Tracking System.

## **Out of State Field Trip Approved**

Approval was given by the Governing Board for 10 CCC students to travel to Ferrara, Parma, and Rome, Italy, to attend the Marco Polo Institute of Mediterranean Culture and Tourism from June 10, 2014, to June 26, 2014. No college or District funds will be used for this trip.

#### New Member for Bond Citizens' Oversight Committee

The Governing Board approved the appointment of student Brianna Klipp as the LMC student representative on the Measure A 2002 and 2006 Bond Citizens' Oversight Committee.

#### **Baccalaureate Resolution Approved**

A resolution supporting the California Community Colleges Baccalaureate Study Group's recommendation to offer limited baccalaureate degrees was approved by the Governing Board. The resolution urges the State Chancellor to continue discussion with the California State University and University of California systems on this matter.

## **California Community College Trustee Election**

The Governing Board approved to support the following candidates for the 2014 California Community College Trustee's board:

Stephen P. Blum, Ventura Community College District Laura Casas, Foothill-DeAnza Community College District Stephan Castellanos, San Joaquin Delta Community College District Nancy Chadwick, Palomar Community College District Paul Gomez, Chaffey Community College District Jeffrey Lease, San Jose-Evergreen Community College District Jim Moreno, Coast Community College District Richard Watters, Ohlone Community College District

The meeting was adjourned in the memory of Jon Morrow, retired CCC Social Science Professor, and DVC student Diego Garcia.

THE NEXT REGULAR MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD WILL BE HELD ON APRIL 23, 2014, BEGINNING AT 6:00 P.M., AT THE GEORGE R. GORDON EDUCATION CENTER, 500 COURT STREET, MARTINEZ, CALIFORNIA